Refugee journeys

Mikael Carlsson Requiem (2016)

In 2015, Gothenburg composer Mikael Carlsson received a commission from the Church of Sweden to write a new Requiem Mass to be premiered in the Haga Church in Gothenburg the following year. At the time, the devastating refugee crisis in Europe, particularly in the Mediterranean, had a profound impact on the composer, and it was decided that the new choral work would relate in some way to the ongoing catastrophe. While the Requiem is rooted in the Catholic liturgy for the dead, both in terms of text and the Gregorian chant melodies, each movement in the current work was given a subtitle that creates a loose narrative about a family escaping war and terror. Composed for mixed choir, string orchestra, and piano, the work premiered on November 5, 2016, and has subsequently been performed twice.

This program also features organ repertoire composed by two British composers: John Tavener (who would have turned 80 this year) and Judith Weir (who turned 70 in May).

John Tavener (1944–2013)

Judith Weir (b. 1954)
The Tree of Peace

Mikael Carlsson (b. 1971)
Introit (War and Terror)
Requiem aeternam (A Cry for Freedom)
Kyrie (Prayer)
Dies irae (Torn Apart)
Offertorium (From Us Who Survived)
Sanctus (Hope)
Agnus dei (Sacrifice)
Lux aeterna (Reunion)

Vocal Ensemble Lux
Musicians from the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and GöteborgsOperan
Anne Laver, organ
Ulrike Heider, conductor

Date & Time
October 15, 2024
7:30 PM 9:00 PM Europe/Brussels

Göteborg Cathedral

Kyrkogatan 28
Göteborg 411 15
--Göteborg Cathedral--
Get the direction

Göteborg International Organ Festival

+46 70 441 42 09

Find out what people see and say about this event, and join the conversation.